South LA Pride logo


Our History

South LA Pride is South Los Angeles’ annual official LGBTQ+ pride celebration! We are a vibrant and dynamic community-powered event.

South LA Pride was first celebrated in 2017 in Leimert Park.  Led by the efforts of Los Angeles City Councilmember Marqueece Harris-Dawson, South LA Pride commenced with a special screening of “Moonlight,” a 2016 American coming-of-age drama film written and directed by Barry Jenkins, based on Tarell Alvin McCraney’s unpublished semi-autobiographical play “In Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue.”

Subsequent South LA Pride celebrations were held at the Baldwin Hills Crenshaw Plaza with a two-year hiatus due to the Coronavirus Pandemic. 

South LA Pride returned in 2022 for its 4th celebration with a community picnic at Norman O. Houston Park in Baldwin Hills. Followed by the 2023 pride celebration at the Michelle and Barack Obama Sports Complex.


About Us

South Los Angeles Pride exists to celebrate, uplift, and empower the diverse LGBTQ+ community of South LA. We aim to create a safe in South Los Angeles and vibrant space that honors our unique cultural identities and fosters a sense of belonging and unity for all.

We envision a South Los Angeles where LGBTQ+ individuals of color are celebrated and embraced for their authentic selves, with equitable access to opportunities and resources. Our goal is to cultivate a community rooted in acceptance, resilience, and empowerment, where every person can thrive and contribute to a future of inclusivity and progress.


City Partners

Marqueece Harris-Dawson

Hon. Marqueece Harris-Dawson

Council District 8

Hon. Heather Hutt

Council District 10


Jasmyne Cannick

Jasmyne Cannick


2024 Co-Chairs & Planning Committee

Ray Love

Ray Love Jr.

2024 Co-Chair

Queen Shannon Gipson

Queen Shannon Gipson

2024 Co-Chair

Sub-Committee Members

Byron Keaton

Outside Kiki Ball

Andre Mollete

Volunteer & Partnerships

Armond Anderson-Bell

& Special Programming

Carle Alexander

Outside Kiki Ball
& Special Programming

CJ Richardson

Marketing & Publicity

Daryl Shobey

Volunteer & Hospitality

David Flores


Donald Willis

Volunteers & Vendors

Dvaughn Nevelle

& Outside Kiki Ball

Ed Palmer

Entertainment & Hospitality

Emmanuel Ares

Volunteers & Outreach

Gionna Bowman

& Creative

Irvin Jerez

Volunteers & Vendors

Jay Betts

Production & Partnerships

Kris Krebs


Lamont Bradley

Entertainment & Production

Liliana Trejo

Volunteers & Hospitality

Louis Waters

Entertainment & Production

Marcel Douglas


Marquis Watkins

Entertainment & Production

Melissa Sanchez Parra

Marketing & Creative

Michael Stratton

Marketing & Partnerships

Nena Walker

Entertainment & Marketing

Paul Chavez


Richard McKinley


Ronald Jackson


Shante Pearson

Fashion Show

Tahida Gibson


Todd Pye

Vendors & Production

Tyrone Thompson

Entertainment & Production